Larry Griffith Project

Larry Griffith Project 2019-03-27T10:12:39+00:00

Larry Griffith Project


Come Up Hard

Larry was brought up in the inner city of Cincinnati, Ohio by a single parent along with nine other siblings. The dilapidated three-tiered tenement literally shook with the radio and vinyl record sounds of everything from blues, gospel, and soul, to jazz. It was in this fertile, eclectic musical environment that 9-year-old Larry first picked up a pen and copied the lyrics of Willie Dixon, Bob Dylan, Laura Nero, Billy Strayhorn and countless others. Larry marveled at these wonderful storytellers and it eventually led him to write his own stories.

Two brothers returning from the military armed with funds from the GI Bill allowed the Griffith family to upgrade to the Walnut Hills section of Cincinnati, which housed the legendary King Records. Seeing great artists in the neighborhood like Freddie King, Bill Doggett, Hank Ballard, Ivory Joe Hunter and even the Godfather of Soul himself James Brown was an ordinary occurrence. As a matter of fact, it was Wesley Hargrove of Hank Ballard’s Midnighters who first took 16-year-old Larry into Federal Records recording studio to drum on several demos. This led to stints as a session drummer, weekend touring and a bird’s eyes view of the not so pretty side of the business all while still in his teens.

Jimi Hendrix’s Band of Gypsys had a profound effect on Larry because of the way Jimi married sonic sounds with futuristic, introspective lyrics. It was also around this time that he fell in lifelong love with the lyrical phasing of John Coltrane.

Nothin’ But the Blues

Relocating to Atlanta, Georgia in the 1990s, Larry discovered then quickly became immersed in the thriving Atlanta blues scene. It was here he had finally found a musical genre wide enough to accommodate his eclectic tastes. Still, it wasn’t until the early 2000’s that “the dream” turned everything on its ear.

While staying at a backwoods motel in Clarksdale, Mississippi, Larry who previously had no designs on or inclinations toward guitar experienced the same dream three nights in a row. In “the dream”, he was onstage ripping it up on guitar like a man possessed, working the deep delta juke joint crowd into a sweet, sweaty frenzy. Fully awakened, Larry came back to Atlanta and told his friend and bandmate, Chicago Joe Jones of his strange dream. It was Joe who then gave Larry his first guitar, a no-name something or other that he had found at a garage sale for a $1. From these humble beginnings and equipped with the visual of the Mississippi delta dream, Larry strapped on, plugged in, turned up and began chipping away.

Even though he had become one of the top drummers on the blues scene, having been a durable side man for Taj Mahal, Sean Costello, Susan Tedeschi, Chick Willis, Bob Margolin and countless others, “the dream” had dared him to forge an alliance between his rich, eclectic song writing story telling style which included elements of blues, country, soul and rock with his gumbo approach to guitar and his highly engaging live stage performance. The result? You’ll have to check that out for yourself.


Press Reviews

“Griffith is one of a growing cadre of bluesmen who should be better known outside their local scene.”
Jim DeKoster, Living Blues
“Griffith is a gifted guitarist/songwriter who flies under the radar despite producing stellar original material in an unhurried soul-blues style.”
– Marty Gunther (Blues Blast Magazine)
“Griffith’s seasoned voice (on both instruments, guitar and vocals) has just enough genuine passion and power to take ordinary blues songs to a darker, deeper level.”
– All About Blues Music
“His guitar work is as good as anybody’s and his vocals are even better.”
– Peter “Blewzzman” Lauro (
“LARRY GRIFFITH roams somewhere between Bobby Blue Bland meets Luther Vandross and Little Milton meets Lou Rawls.”
– Peter “Blewzzman” Lauro (
“He mesmerizes his listeners with his storytelling through song.”
– Theodis Ealey (IFGAM Records)
“Larry Griffith, steeped in the blues tradition, reminds us of the roots of the blues and soul music, by combining the honesty his entertaining lyrics and his wide range of styles”
– Eric Schuurmans (Rootstime)

“With ‘Bonafide’, Larry Griffith still knows how to ensure the right groove. After all those years, how could it be otherwise…”


-Eric Schuurmans, Rootstime

“This package will please fans of soul-blues everywhere both for the quality of Griffith’s material and the overall quality production.”


-Shake It Loose CD Review, April 9, 2017 (Blues Blast Magazine)

“Griffith has a charming onstage persona and is a gifted singer and songwriter. He had a regular party going on up front.”


-Live Review: Blues Stotts Festival (Nov 12, 2016), November 17, 2016

“He has been physically and spiritually hungry, in a chronic way. Music was his salvation, and on this five-track CD which is more like an EP, his gratitude shows.”


-Get Up EP Review, September 23, 2015 (Blues Blast Magazine)

“Larry marveled at these wonderful storytellers [Willie Dixon, Bob Dylan, Laura Nero, Billy Strayhorn] and it eventually led him to write his own stories.”


-Live Exclusive Interview: Making A Scene, May 5, 2015

“Griffith is one of a growing cadre of bluesmen who should be better known outside their local scene…and this album should move him closer to that goal.”


-Hard As It Gets CD Review, October 1, 2014 (Living Blues Magazine)

“And thus was born a second act in Larry Griffith’s life in the blues… Larry walked away from one successful life and into another.”


-Shake It Loose CD Review, April 25, 2017 (All About Blues Music)

Press Kit

Downloadable Images:



(Release: February 21, 2019)   

1. Hoodoo Hannah

2.  Always Going To Be Something With You

3.  It Ain’t What They Call You

4.  I Know

5.  I Did, I Do, I’m Done

6.  Slow Grind

7.  Had Enough

8.  I’m Free

9.  Mama Tried

(Release: December 14, 2016)   

1.  Keep Ridin’

2.  Every King Needs A Queen

3.  All I Really Wanna Do

4.  Our Love Is In Good Hands

5.  Ain’t Puttin’ Up

6.  Shake It Loose

(Released: Sep 19, 2012)

1.   Driving Me Away

2.   Blues Is Callin’ My Name

3.   Damn If It Didn’t Rain

4.   Hard As It Gets

5.   I’ll Specialize

6.   Somebody Better Call Somebody

7.   It’s Time

8.   Don’t Wanna Be Her

9.   Cora Lee

10.  Keep Ridin’

11.  Let Yourself Slide

12.  One Good Woman

(Released: July 18, 2006)

1.    Better Man

2.   Oh My Lawd!

3.   You Ain’t Walkin’ Out That Door

4.   Out Of My Reach

5.   One Of Us Got’s To Go

6.   Without Annette

7.   Lunatic On The Line

8.   Head Over Heels

9.   Tell Her

10.  This Love Of Ours

11.  You’re The One

12.  Rethinkin’ My Thoughts

(Released: April 15, 2015) 

1.   My Jack Is Jumpin’

2.   Get Up, Get Out

3.   Can’t Go Back

4.   I’m Tired

5.   Why, Baby

(Released: July 24, 2015)

1.  You Can’t Turn a Hoochie Into a Housewife







(Released: Feb 26, 2014)

1.  I Want a Big Legged Woman (With Good Credit)